Teacher, mother, secret lover.
About a year ago, I was feeling like I needed new TV shows to watch so I asked people to pimp me their fandoms. Let's check in and see how all those shows are doing.
bonibaru and
debchan both suggested Miracles. I watched one episode and it instantly became my favourite current show. It was dark and creepy and supernatural -- a clear successor to Millennium for me.
The next day it was cancelled.
I decided to never again give my heart to a TV show so easily.
barkley and
destina made strong cases for Stargate. "Jack even drives a pick-up truck." I ordered S1 on DVD, then 2 and 3 and 4 and 5 and 6 and here I am, still watching and the show hasn't been cancelled. The only thing is I don't get the eps first run here in Canada, so this is a DVD and BitTorrent fandom for me. I'm really glad I picked it up. The fans are so cool, the fic is so good, and of course there's Thor.
sabine101 pimped Jeremiah to me but I didn't get interested until she told me that it was JMS's new show. She made me some tapes and then I bought the DVDs when they came out and
killabeez hooked me up with S2. I'm very, very taken with the show, with the whole setting, and with the characters. (Did I mention I'm now officially in love with Markus? Pretty mouth!) But it's been cancelled, of course.
Other shows that were recommended but I never got around to checking out:
- John Doe
- Fastlane
- Crossing Jordan
- Everwood
- Boomtown
I think Everwood and Crossing Jordan are the only ones still on the air.
So this year I've been watching Angel and then Wonderfalls. *sigh* At least my beloved Trailer Park Boys are starting S4 next Sunday.
But I've picked up Gundam Wing as a DVD fandom, LotR and HP are as grand as ever they were, and I started downloading Full Metal Alchemist, about which I will post in more detail later on.
Sooooo, got any shows you want to pimp to me just before they curl up and die?

no subject
*will stop FMA gushing now*
no subject
no subject
Law and Order: Criminal Intent is another good one. Vincent D'Onofrio! I've also been very into Touching Evil and Andromeda. Andromeda has at least one more season to go and 2 1/2 of the seasons are on DVD right now. Touching Evil is new and Bradley Cooper just joined the cast.
no subject
I miss a lot about the show, but I don't think I'd find those things if I picked it up again. :(
Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
Re: Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
Re: Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
And there shall be much pimping in Vegas. I'll have
Re: Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
Ha! Nice try.
Re: Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
Re: Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
Re: Dude. Farscape. Safe because already dead.
*Very* stoked about the mini-series, though. Eee.
no subject
It's an HBO show, but they're running it on Showcase here in Canada now. I'd suggest renting the DVDs, though, because I find I really enjoy it a lot more when I can watch a few eps at a time.
no subject
it makes me feel like my life is full of intrigue - just by virtue of living next to a funeral home.
no subject
no subject
*Alias,* if you haven't already checked it out. This season is a bit iffy ("Sydney is perfect, and we should all love her"), but I adored season two (Spydaddy! Spymommy!)
*Joan of Arcadia* may be a little too sweet for you, but it has it's moments (it is currently my *squee!* show).
And because I'm in love, and currently pimping in any case (if you're interested in movies as well), check out *Ginger Snaps.*
no subject
And there are a lot of interesting shows--new and old, popular and obscure--on Space (http://www.spacecast.com/shows/), if you have the channel.
no subject
Big Wolf on Campus used to be a 5 minute fandom of mine. By which I mean that I was watching Buffy on YTV and BWoC came on right before. So I'd tune in and watch the last 5 minutes of it. I got quite attached to it but never quite attached enough to watch the whole thing. If it comes out on DVD I might be tempted, though.
I have been occasionally watching "Strange Days at Blake Holsey High" though, which is an odd little program about kids at a private school where freaky things happen all the time.
no subject
I can't wait to see what you think of the show. So. fucked. up. And funny, and sick, and heartwrenching, and oh God, I'm going to have to open up my DVDs *right now.*
Alias
I'd love to see what you'd do with Jack. And Irina. And Weiss. And Lauren. And Sark--well, not really, but everyone *else* thinks he's Teh Hawt, so.
Big Wolf on Campus used to be a 5 minute fandom of mine.
That's how I started out, except I hit a few more stages than you did.
Stage 1: This is so *stupid.*
Stage 2: This is so stupid. . . but strangely compelling.
Stage 3: OMG! *squee!* OT(slash)P! OT(het)P! OTC! Must write fic!
If it comes out on DVD I might be tempted, though.
I have no idea who to pester about BWoC DVDs, though I'd buy them in a heartbeat.
I have been occasionally watching "Strange Days at Blake Holsey High" though, which is an odd little program about kids at a private school where freaky things happen all the time.
Sounds interesting.
I've been caught up in shows that are left totally untouched fannishly while flipping through YTV (Vampire High (teenage vampire melodrama!) and 2030 C.E., for instance). Depending on the channel, it can be hard to keep up with a 'small' show, especially if there's not a fannish network around it to keep me involved.
no subject
no subject
Oh, it sucks, no doubt about that. One of the things that is most likely to turn me off of a character is their bad behaviour being excused on a meta level by TPTB, and Vampire High was full of that when it came to Drew and his creepy obsession with a human student.
I liked the idea of the show, but in excecution. . . *bleah* (which didn't keep me from writing VH fic, for I have little shame left).
I haven't seen 2030 CE, though.
YTV kept moving it around, so I haven't seen it in quite a while. There was a lot of room for interesting stories, though. A world without grown-ups, mixed with government conspiracies. There's a series overview (http://www.tvtome.com/2030CE/) at TV Tome, if you're at all interested.
no subject
Pretty boys, angst, silliness, Egyptian mythology, bountiful slashines with every kind of pairing you can imagine (best friends, rivals, enemies, brothers, partners in crime, buddies, two souls sharing a single body...), a game that's actually really fun to play (although the anime doesn't always follow the rules of the real game), and anime hair!
The dubbed version is readily available, but for the real crack you need the subbed Hong Kong DVDs. And the manga.
no subject
no subject
no subject
gilmore girls? not so much for fandom but it's a good show.
the o.c. has good slashiness but is otherwise pretty craptastic.
along with angel and tlc i think those are the only things i watch.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Also, I hear Boomtown might be coming out on DVD.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
But I really think that you and Farscape are a good match. It's whacky and cancelled.
no subject
no subject
Do you slash Thor at all? (As I think you know,
no subject
But you really should read Gone Fishin' by Kai. That's the stuff.
no subject
How do you feel about having a co-writer? When I know the canon better, as it seems inevitable that I will do.
In the meantime, this is what I've got: Happily Ever After.
Feedback left on your site.
But you really should read Gone Fishin' by Kai. That's the stuff.
Oooh, longer fic. I shall save that.
no subject
See here (http://www.livejournal.com/users/netninny/44405.html) for the full pimp.
*
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject